Cameron Meeks (Sam Houston HS)

Sam Houston's Cameron Meeks pitches against Parkway during the LHSAA Baseball State Tournament Class 5A semi-final at McMurray Park in Sulphur, Louisiana on Sunday, May 12, 2019. (AP Photo/Lake Charles American Press, Kirk Meche)

Loaded with star talent, Sam Houston High School’s baseball and softball teams had a stellar spring and combined seven for selections on the 2019 American Press All Southwest big school baseball and softball teams.

Senior McNeese State signee Cameron Meeks won the baseball MVP award after leading the Broncos to a 36-5 season and the Class 5A state championship game.

Meeks was the Broncos’ ace on the mound, going 10-0 with one save and a 0.68 earned run average. He struck out 78 batters in 61 innings. He was also one of the Broncos’ top offensive threats with 15 doubles, four triples, five home runs, 35 runs scored and 51 RBIs with a .405 batting average.

He was at his best in the playoffs, earning three wins including a complete game one-hit shutout in the semifinals to beat Parkway 4-0 with eight strikeouts.

Meeks is joined on the baseball team by teammates Silas Ardoin and Braden Duhon. Ardoin, a catcher bound for the University of Texas, hit .417 with nine doubles, three triples, three home runs and 36 RBIs. Duhon, a center fielder who signed with Louisiana Tech, is a speedster who stole 43 bases in 41 games while batting .485 in the leadoff spot with 11 doubles, three triples, 56 runs and 30 RBIs.

Sam Houston led all teams with four selections on the softball team after a 28-4 season. The Lady Broncos were the No. 1 seed in the Class 5A playoffs but lost to No. 8 Walker 8-2 in the quarterfinals.

Three of Sam Houston’s softball team picks are repeat selections in pitcher Jenny Griggers, shortstop Jordan Lafosse and third baseman Jil Poullard.

Griggers led Sam Houston to the District 3-5A championship and finished the season with a 27-4 record, 132 strikeouts and a 1.98 earned run average. She also helped herself at the plate, batting .424 with 13 doubles, six home runs and 35 RBIs.

Lafosse drove in 38 runs for the second consecutive season while hitting .460 with 10 doubles, four triples and four home runs.

Poullard missed the first two weeks of the season recovering from a basketball injury but was still one of the best offensive and defensive infielders in the area. She hit .515 with five doubles, six triples, 33 runs and 29 RBIs.

Sam Houston and District 3-5A MVP Kimber Hamilton (.400 avg., 8 doubles, 4 triples, 9 HR, 51 runs, 42 RBIs) made the team at the catcher position.

Westlake pitcher Myka Lester (.500 avg., 7 doubles, 12 HRs, 33 RBIs/9-10, 5.44 ERA) and Sulphur catcher Abi Massey (.425 avg., 9 doubles, 10 HRs, 44 RBIs) made the team as utility players. 

Barbe freshman left-handed pitcher Kalie Pappion is the softball MVP after leading her team to the Class 5A finals.

Barbe claimed both coach of the year awards. Glenn Cecchini led the Bucs to their 10 state championship, an 8-2 win over Sam Houston, while Candyce Carter led the Lady Bucs to the 5A finals in just her second season at the helm.

2019 American Press 

All Southwest Big School team



PCameron MeeksSam HoustonSr.

PJack WalkerBarbeSo.

PBrendan Moody-JeaneIowaSr.

PAvery DavisS. BeauSr.

CSilas ArdoinSam HoustonSr.

1BDylan JiminezS. BeauJr.

2BChase FisherS. BeauSr.

3BKyle DeBargeBarbeSo.

SSDavis MecheBarbeJr.

OFBraden DuhonSam HoustonSr.

OFBrody DrostBarbeJr.

OFBlaise TheriotIowaSr.

UTHunter WriborgIotaSr.

UTCameron LeJeuneDeRidderSr.

UTJohn HarmonLeesvilleSr.

UTKole MyersJenningsSr.

UTJ.T. PeloquinSt. LouisSr.

MVP — Cameron Meeks, Sam Houston.

Coach of the Year — Glenn Cecchini, Barbe.



PHalie PappionBarbeFr.

PJenny GriggersSam HoustonSr.

PHannah DerouenSt. LouisSr.

PKarina SimpkinsS. BeaurSr.

CKimber HamiltonSam HoustonSr.

1BBella HouckLeesvilleJr.

2BKa’le GuilloryBarbeSr.

3BJil PoullardSam HoustonSr.

SSJordan LafosseSam HoustonSr.

OFKylie DeHartBarbeSo.

OFJaclyn DeasonS. BeaurSr.

OFKaragan HowardIowaSo.

UTMyka LesterWestlakeSr.

UTMadelyn PhillipsLeesvilleSr.

UTAubrey JoslinDeRidderSr.

UTAbi MasseySulphurSo.

UTLesley LebleuIowaSo.

MVP — Halie Pappion, Barbe.

Coach of the Year — Candyce Carter, Barbe.