State softball 2017

Calvin’s Morgan Martinez catches a fly ball duiring a Class C quarterfinal game last season against Hackberry. Calvin is looking to win its first state title since 2008.

There is a big void to fill in Class C this week at the LHSAA state softball tournament.

Hackberry won its sixth straight state championship last year but will not be going for a seventh after missing the playoffs for the first time since 2007.

Seven of the eight teams left in Class C lost at the hands of the Lady Mustangs in Sulphur over the last few years and are hoping to be the next state champion.

No. 1 Plainview was the last victim after losing to Hackberry 10-4 in the finals last year. They will take on No. 9 Simpson in the quarterfinals on Thursday. All Class C quarterfinal games will start at 5 p.m.

Simpson is makings its first trip to Sulphur since falling in the quarterfinals in 2010. Simpson owns four state championships (1993, 2003, 2004, 2006).

No. 2 Maurepas lost to Hackberry 1-0 in the 2012 finals and has lost in the quarterfinals the last two seasons. The Lady Wolves will take on No. 7 Calvin, who lost to Hackberry in the 2015 quarterfinals, in the quarterfinals.

Maurepas is led by big hitters Keegan Marchand (.463, 33 RBI, 9 doubles, 5 triples, 6 home runs) and Kaylynn Vicknair (.403, 29 RBIs, 6 doubles, 5 home runs).

No. 4 Ebarb is back in Sulphur after losing to Hackberry in the 2014 quarterfinals. They will face No. 5 Elizabeth who is making its first trip to the state tournament since falling to Hackberry in the 2013 quarterfinals.

No. 3 Georgetown will face No. 11 Summerfield in the other Class C quarterfinal. Georgetown lost to Hackberry in the 2013 finals while Summerfield is back in Sulphur for the first time since 2007.

In Class B, the No. 2 Florien Lady Blackcats are back in Sulphur and ready to add another trophy after winning the last three Class B state championships.

But on the other side of the bracket is No. 1 Holden who has lost just once this year and has won 13 straight led by pitcher Olivia Lackie who averages 2.28 strikeouts per inning.

Florien will face No. 10 Stanley in the quarterfinals while Holden will take on No. 9 Pitkin who is making its first trip to Sulphur since 2009.

Seniors Emerald Terrell (.500, 22 RBIs, 10 doubles, 4 home runs) and Mallory Mitchell (.500, 20 RBI, 16 doubles) will led No. 6 Converse into its quarterfinal game against No. 3 Castor while No. 4 Anacoco will take on No. 5 Zwolle.

In Division IV, No. 1 Claiborne Christian got a bye all the way to the semifinals and awaits the winner out of No. 4 St. Joseph’s-Plaucheville and No. 5 Patrick Taylor Science/Tech.

Claiborne is making its third consecutive trip to Sulphur after losing to St. Joseph’s in the quarterfinals last year. Claiborne won back-to-back state champions in 2009 and 2010.

On the other side of the bracket, No. 2 Northside Christian will face No. 7 Grace Christian and No. 3 Family Community and No. 6 Family Christian will square off in the other quarterfinal game.